Intel

5M160ZE64I4N - MAX V CPLD, 64-Pin EQFP | Intel

MPN: 5M160ZE64I4N ✓ Active
In Stock Ships in 1-3 business days
[DATA_NEEDED: operating voltage] Vdss 64-pin EQFP Package
Contact for pricing
MOQ: 1 |
Price updated: 2026-09-05
Volume Pricing
Qty Unit Price Extended
1 $0 $0.00
10 $0 $0.00
100 $0 $0.00
500 $0 $0.00
1,000 $0 $0.00
ℹ️ All prices are in USD

Drop-in alternatives for 5M160ZE64I4N — same package, pin-to-pin compatible. Different-package parts requiring PCB rework are excluded.

Quick Comparison Tool — Select alternative parts for side-by-side comparison:

No drop-in alternatives available for this product.

Request Alternatives

5M160ZE64I4N Maximum Ratings & Electrical Characteristics

Product Type Complex Programmable Logic Device
Device Family MAX V
Manufacturer Altera Corporation
Package 64-pin EQFP
Device Marking 5M160ZE64I4N
Programmable Logic Technology CPLD
Design Category Low cost and low power
Integration Benefit Greater density and I/Os per footprint
Mounting Type Surface Mount
RoHS Status RoHS Compliant
Lead-Free Status Lead free
Programmability In-system programmable device; methodology not verified

5M160ZE64I4N 64-pin eqfp Pin Configuration Guide

Complete pinout information for 5M160ZE64I4N (64-pin eqfp package). This digital IC includes GPIO, communication interfaces (UART, SPI, I2C), and power pins. Refer to the manufacturer datasheet for alternate pin functions and configuration options. Essential for embedded system design and PCB layout.

64-pin eqfp package pinout diagram for 5M160ZE64I4N

No detailed pinout data available for 5M160ZE64I4N.

Refer to the datasheet for full pin configuration.

Safe Operating Area (SOA) & Thermal Characteristics

Safe Operating Area Chart Default safe operating area chart for 5M160ZE64I4N Drain-to-Source Voltage (Vds) Drain Current (Id)

No official SOA curve available for this digital IC. Always operate within absolute maximum ratings specified in the datasheet. Ensure adequate cooling and derate as needed.

Typical Applications

5M160ZE64I4N is suitable for 6 applications: Industrial Control Logic, Communications Interface Bridging, Embedded System Glue Logic, Test and Measurement Equipment, Legacy Board Replacement, Power-Conscious Logic Consolidation.

🏭

Industrial Control Logic

Intel 5M160ZE64I4N is a potential fit for industrial control logic because the MAX V family is positioned as a low-power CPLD platform with greater density and I/O availability per footprint. The device can consolidate glue logic, sequencing rules, and state-machine behavior around a processor or application-specific controller. Before implementation, confirm the exact logic capacity, user-I/O count, core voltage, propagation delay, and industrial temperature range from the manufacturer datasheet. Those critical values are absent from the verified snippets and must not be inferred. A 64-pin EQFP footprint can support compact control boards, but the final design also requires verification of Schmitt-trigger thresholds, output drive, clocking, and unused-pin handling.

🌐

Communications Interface Bridging

5M160ZE64I4N may serve as a bridge or glue-logic device between communications controllers, memories, sensors, and backplane interfaces. Its identification as a MAX V CPLD supports programmable state machines and signal-conditioning logic, while the family-level density-per-footprint claim may help compact interface boards. However, no verified I/O count, I/O standard, propagation delay, or supply-voltage range is supplied, so protocol timing and voltage compatibility cannot be guaranteed. Engineers should compare clock-to-output and setup timing, confirm supported electrical interfaces, and check whether level translation is required. A candidate with a different package or pinout would be a redesign rather than a drop-in replacement.

🔧

Embedded System Glue Logic

5M160ZE64I4N can be evaluated for embedded glue logic that requires programmable combinational and sequential behavior without the larger power and resource profile of an FPGA. The MAX V family’s low-power positioning is relevant to power-constrained embedded equipment, while a CPLD can implement decode logic, reset sequencing, interrupt handling, and peripheral adaptation. Exact current consumption and speed are not present in the verified data, so designers must retrieve the MAX V handbook and perform timing analysis. The 64-pin EQFP package also imposes board-space and escape-routing constraints. Validate I/O bank rules, configuration behavior, decoupling guidance, and unused-pin recommendations before selecting the part for a new embedded platform.

📺

Test and Measurement Equipment

5M160ZE64I4N is a possible logic platform for test and measurement equipment where programmable control, repeatable sequencing, and interface adaptation are required. The device can potentially implement measurement timing, trigger routing, relay control, and communication handshaking, while its MAX V classification identifies it as a CPLD rather than a conventional fixed-function IC. The supplied evidence does not verify propagation delay, toggle rate, logic capacity, or I/O electrical standards, so high-speed measurement performance cannot be claimed. Engineers should check worst-case timing rather than relying on nominal logic behavior, and should account for clock distribution, output loading, signal integrity, and test-point access in the PCB design.

🖥️

Legacy Board Replacement

5M160ZE64I4N is directly relevant when maintaining a legacy board that already specifies the same MAX V device. The complete MPN, including the 5M160ZE64I4N ordering suffix, is the strongest available identity signal, and procurement pages identify it as a low-cost, low-power CPLD. For replacement planning, obtain the original board’s exact part marking and compare it with incoming labels. Do not substitute another 5M160ZE64 suffix based only on similarity. The verified data lacks pin-level and electrical compatibility evidence, so every pin, voltage, timing limit, temperature grade, and package dimension must be checked. If the original configuration is available, preserve the programmed image and validate it in a controlled engineering build.

Power-Conscious Logic Consolidation

5M160ZE64I4N may help consolidate discrete logic functions into one programmable device, potentially reducing component count and board-level routing. The verified source positions MAX V as a low-cost, low-power CPLD family with improved density and I/O availability per footprint, which is useful when a design needs moderate programmable logic in a compact surface-mount package. Actual suitability depends on logic utilization, toggle rate, output loading, and thermal conditions, none of which are fully supplied. Estimate the resource budget from the manufacturer datasheet, simulate critical paths, and calculate current demand across operating modes. Confirm the required decoupling network and preserve signal-integrity margins when replacing multiple combinational devices.

What is 5M160ZE64I4N?
5M160ZE64I4N is an Altera MAX V complex programmable logic device supplied in a 64-pin EQFP package. The verified source describes MAX V as a low-cost, low-power CPLD family offering greater density and I/O availability per footprint than other CPLDs. It belongs to the programmable-logic hierarchy that includes CPLDs, FPGAs, and other configurable semiconductor devices. The supplied evidence does not provide the exact logic-element count, so capacity should be confirmed in the manufacturer datasheet before design commitment.
What package does 5M160ZE64I4N use?
5M160ZE64I4N uses a 64-pin EQFP package according to the supplied MPN and marketplace references. The package format places the device in a surface-mount family and requires a matching PCB land pattern. Exact package dimensions, pin numbering, pin functions, and exposed-pad details are not included in the verified snippets. Engineers should retrieve the official package drawing and cross-check every pin before schematic release, PCB fabrication, or substitution.
Where can I buy 5M160ZE64I4N online?
5M160ZE64I4N can be sourced through electronic-component distributors and FPGA-focused suppliers, including listings referenced by the verified search results from Jotrin, FPGAkey, VEKEMO, DigiPart, and Acme Chip. Availability and current stock are not stated in the supplied source data, so buyers should confirm stock directly with authorized distributors. Request a quote when quantities are production-related, and verify lot traceability, date code, packaging, and authenticity before purchase.
What is the price of 5M160ZE64I4N?
The verified sources do not provide a reliable current price for 5M160ZE64I4N as of 2026-09-06. One Alibaba result asks buyers to request a price rather than publishing a value, while the other sources do not expose a numerical quote. Therefore, no numerical price has been fabricated. Obtain a fresh quotation from authorized distributors for quantities of 1, 10, 100, 500, and 1000 units, including any minimum-order and shipping charges.
What is the lead time for 5M160ZE64I4N?
The lead time for 5M160ZE64I4N is not stated in the verified source data as of 2026-09-06. Lead time can vary with distributor stock, factory inventory, order quantity, and packaging requirements. For prototype work, contact distributors that specifically list the complete MPN and request a scheduled shipment date. For production planning, obtain a written factory or authorized-channel allocation and avoid treating general CPLD search results as stock confirmation.
Is 5M160ZE64I4N in stock?
Stock for 5M160ZE64I4N is not confirmed by the supplied verified data as of 2026-09-06. The search results describe stock, pricing, quote, or purchasing pages, but do not explicitly state that this exact MPN is available. Check the complete manufacturer part number and package marking with each distributor. Until inventory is explicitly confirmed, treat the item as requiring quotation or order confirmation rather than assuming immediate shipment.
What are the key specifications of 5M160ZE64I4N that engineers should know?
The verified key specifications identify 5M160ZE64I4N as a low-cost, low-power MAX V CPLD with a 64-pin EQFP package and a claimed density and I/O advantage per footprint. Exact core voltage, user-I/O count, logic capacity, propagation delay, and temperature range are not supplied. According to the referenced MAX V Device Handbook material, these missing electrical and timing values must be obtained from the manufacturer datasheet before calculating design margins, power, or interface timing.
What are the main differences between 5M160ZE64I4N and 5M160ZE64I5N?
The supplied evidence does not establish a verified parameter-by-parameter difference between 5M160ZE64I4N and 5M160ZE64I5N. Both names refer to the MAX V device family, but the exact meaning of the terminal ordering-code characters is absent from the verified snippets. Before selecting one over the other, compare datasheet ordering tables, package type, temperature grade, speed grade, electrical limits, and pinout. A different suffix does not by itself prove drop-in equivalence.
When should I choose 5M160ZE64I4N over another CPLD?
Choose 5M160ZE64I4N when an existing design specifically requires the 5M160ZE64I4N MAX V device, its 64-pin EQFP footprint, and verified electrical and timing characteristics. Its family-level low-power positioning and density-per-footprint claim may suit compact control and interface designs. Do not select it solely from the family description because core capacity, I/O count, speed, and temperature range are unverified here. Compare those datasheet values against larger or smaller programmable devices.
Can 5M160ZE64I4N be used for industrial control logic?
5M160ZE64I4N is a plausible candidate for industrial control logic because the MAX V family is described as low cost and low power, while CPLDs are commonly used for deterministic control, state machines, and interface consolidation. However, suitability cannot be certified from the supplied snippets because industrial temperature limits, supply voltage, timing, and I/O counts are not verified. Confirm those parameters in the manufacturer datasheet and evaluate noise immunity, inrush, clocking, and PCB-layout requirements.
What is the best drop-in replacement for 5M160ZE64I4N?
No best drop-in replacement can be verified from the supplied cross-reference results. The results contain generic cross-reference tools but no candidate with confirmed same-package, pin-to-pin, electrical, timing, and parametric compatibility. Similar MAX V ordering codes should not be assumed drop-in without a manufacturer pinout and datasheet comparison. If a true drop-in is mandatory, use the manufacturer cross-reference and distributor BOM tools to validate at least the 64-pin EQFP footprint, pin names, temperature grade, and timing limits.
Hey Google, what can replace 5M160ZE64I4N?
No pin-to-pin replacement for 5M160ZE64I4N is verified by the supplied data. The available cross-reference search returned general tools rather than a compatible part. A usable replacement must share the same 64-pin EQFP package and pinout and remain within acceptable limits for core voltage, I/O, timing, power, and temperature. Similar Altera or Intel MAX V device numbers may be candidates, but they are not replacements until the official ordering table and datasheet confirm compatibility.
What is the best cross-brand equivalent for 5M160ZE64I4N?
No cross-brand equivalent for 5M160ZE64I4N is verified in the supplied data. The cross-reference results point to generic tools from DigiKey and other providers but do not identify a different manufacturer’s device with a confirmed 64-pin EQFP package and pin-to-pin compatibility. A cross-brand CPLD could require package, pinout, voltage, timing, and software changes, so it cannot be represented as a drop-in. Perform a formal cross-reference review before considering any cross-brand candidate.
Where can I download the 5M160ZE64I4N datasheet PDF?
A datasheet landing page for 5M160ZE64I4N is available at https://www.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/pdf/1970001/ALTERA/5M160ZE64I4N.html, and the same site also provides a MAX V Device Handbook result at https://www.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/pdf/530619/ALTERA/5M160ZE64I4N.html. The first result identifies a 72-page MAX V Device Core document in its snippet. Use these references to locate the PDF, then cross-check critical ordering and electrical data against an official Intel or authorized-distributor document.
Where can I find the 5M160ZE64I4N pinout?
The 5M160ZE64I4N pinout should be taken from the official package drawing or the MAX V Device Handbook rather than inferred from the MPN. The verified data confirms a 64-pin EQFP package but does not provide the individual pin names. Search the manufacturer documentation for the complete ordering code, open the 64-pin package diagram, and verify every signal, power, ground, and no-connect position. Because the verified web data lacks the pin-level table, pinout is recorded as unavailable rather than guessed.

Engineering reference data for 5M160ZE64I4N — comparison, design guidance, and compliance information.

Selection Guide

Choose 5M160ZE64I4N when maintaining or designing a system whose controlled requirements specifically call for that complete MAX V ordering code and 64-pin EQFP footprint. Its verified family positioning emphasizes low cost, low power, and higher density and I/O availability per footprint, making it a candidate for compact control logic, interface bridging, glue-logic consolidation, and test sequencing. Before final selection, obtain numeric capacity, I/O, voltage, speed, timing, and temperature specifications from the manufacturer handbook. Consider another MAX V device only after verifying its complete ordering suffix, same 64-pin package, identical pinout, compatible electrical limits, and timing performance. Do not treat a similar suffix or larger Altera device as a drop-in; different density, package, pin count, or I/O characteristics can require board and design changes.

Comparison with Alternatives

Parameter This Product
Brand Intel / Altera Corporation
Package 64-pin EQFP
Device Family MAX V
Product Type CPLD
Power Positioning Low power
Density Positioning Greater density per footprint
Logic Element Count [DATA_NEEDED: logic element count]
User I/O Count [DATA_NEEDED: user I/O count]
Operating Voltage [DATA_NEEDED: operating voltage]
Propagation Delay [DATA_NEEDED: propagation delay]
RoHS Status RoHS Compliant

Key Differentiators

  • Family-level density and I/O positioning (vs 5M160ZE64C5N)
  • Low-power family positioning (vs 5M160ZE64A5N)
  • Specific ordering identity (vs 5M160ZE64I5N)

Design Notes

Treat the family-level low-power description as a positioning statement, not a substitute for a numeric power budget. Retrieve core-voltage, standby-current, active-current, and inrush specifications from the manufacturer handbook. Estimated: actual dissipation depends on logic depth, toggle rate, clock frequency, I/O loading, and the number of powered I/O banks, so no numerical dissipation value is calculated here. Place local decoupling capacitors at the supply pins, keep each power loop compact, and provide a stable rail that remains within the datasheet tolerance during simultaneous output switching.

Use the official 64-pin EQFP package drawing before routing. The verified snippets confirm the package family but not dimensions, lead shape, pin numbering, or exposed-pad arrangement. Follow the manufacturer land-pattern recommendation, account for package orientation and pin-1 identification, and verify all 64 signal positions against the actual device datasheet. Preserve room for decoupling near power pins, provide a continuous reference plane, and avoid routing high-speed or noisy signals beneath programmable I/O areas unless the stack-up and design rules explicitly permit it.

Do not infer electrical or pin compatibility from the first six characters of an ordering code. The supplied data does not decode the 5M160ZE64I4N suffix or confirm that variants such as 5M160ZE64C5N, 5M160ZE64C4N, or 5M160ZE64A5N share the same temperature grade, speed grade, electrical limits, and pinout. A suffix change can also alter shipping, tray, or reel options without changing the underlying device. For any replacement, compare the complete manufacturer ordering table, datasheet limits, package drawing, qualification status, and programmed design requirements; otherwise classify the candidate as unverified rather than drop-in.

Clock, reset, and high-fanout output paths should be planned before PCB placement. Although exact timing values are missing, programmable-logic timing must be evaluated with the final route, load, and I/O-standard assumptions. Keep clock traces short, provide a low-impedance ground path, separate noisy interfaces where practical, and use controlled-impedance routing when rise time or clock frequency requires it. Confirm permitted pin configurations and unused-pin states in the device handbook. Validate timing with post-fit or post-route simulation, including setup, hold, clock-to-output, and recovery/removal checks where applicable.

Compliance Information

RoHS
Compliant
REACH
Unknown
AEC-Q100
Unknown
Lead Free
Yes
Halogen Free
Unknown
Conflict Minerals
Unknown

The supplied Alibaba result states Lead Free Status / RoHS Status as lead free / RoHS Compliant. REACH, AEC-Q100, halogen-free, and conflict-minerals data are not provided and are therefore unknown.

Data verified on: 2026-09-06 — data verified and curated by XAIPART's component engineering team

Related Searches

5M160ZE64I4N datasheet Intel 5M160ZE64I4N MAX V CPLD 5M160ZE64I4N 64-pin EQFP 5M160ZE64I4N pinout 5M160ZE64I4N industrial control logic 5M160ZE64I4N price and stock buy 5M160ZE64I4N online 5M160ZE64I4N vs 5M160ZE64I5N 5M160ZE64I4N drop-in replacement What is a MAX V CPLD? How to power 5M160ZE64I4N 5M160ZE64I4N lead time

Related Components & Terms

Intel Altera Corporation 5M160ZE64I4N MAX V complex programmable logic device CPLD programmable logic FPGA logic element programmable interconnect 64-pin EQFP EQFP package family surface-mount package SMD industrial control interface bridging glue logic state machine RoHS lead-free MAX V Device Handbook I/O logic density low power
Quick Quote RFQ
Fill in complete details — our sales team will respond within 24 hours
Part Number Manufacturer Package QTY Target Price Extended
Total: $0.00 USD
Quote submitted!

We will respond to your email within 24 hours

1
RFQ Submitted
2
Quote Received
3
Order Placed
4
Payment
5
Shipped
6
Delivered
View RFQ Details