Intel

EP2A40F1020C8N - 1.5M-Gate APEX II FPGA | Intel | Industrial Logic

MPN: EP2A40F1020C8N ✗ End of Life
In Stock Ships in 1-3 business days
1.5 V Vdss 1,020 pins Package 376 MHz Speed
Contact for pricing
MOQ: 1 |
Price updated: 2026-09-08
Volume Pricing
Qty Unit Price Extended
1 $0 $0.00
10 $0 $0.00
100 $0 $0.00
500 $0 $0.00
1,000 $0 $0.00
ℹ️ All prices are in USD

EP2A40F1020C8N Overview

Intel EP2A40F1020C8N is a field-programmable gate array from the APEX II family, integrating 1.5 million gates and 38,400 logic cells in a 1,020-ball fine-pitch BGA package. Verified sources identify a nominal 1.5 V supply, 735 user I/O pins, and either 376 MHz or 562 MHz as the reported operating-frequency figure, depending on source and interpretation. A propagation delay of 1.78 ns is also listed, alongside a separate 1.55 ns value in another source; this discrepancy is preserved for validation rather than reconciled by assumption. The device is fabricated using a 0.15 µm all-layer copper process with as many as eight metal layers.

A field-programmable gate array, or FPGA, is a semiconductor device whose logic architecture, interconnections, and I/O behavior can be configured after manufacture. FPGAs occupy the programmable-logic tier between fixed-function application-specific integrated circuits and software-defined processors. APEX II devices combine reusable logic resources, programmable routing, embedded memory, and high-speed differential I/O, making them suitable for parallel data processing, communications, and industrial control. Within the semiconductor hierarchy, EP2A40F1020C8N is an FPGA, programmable logic device, CMOS integrated circuit, and programmable semiconductor.

Its principal engineering attributes include 1.5 million gates, 38,400 cells, 735 user I/Os, and 1,020 BGA terminals. The reported logic process is 0.15 µm, while the package is described as 1020-pin FC-FBGA or BGA-1020 with a 33 mm by 33 mm body and 1 mm pitch. A 1.425 V to 1.575 V operating-supply range surrounds the nominal 1.5 V rail. These characteristics support systems that need dense parallel logic and many external interfaces.

The APEX II architecture combines programmable logic cells with routing resources and dedicated I/O structures. The verified APEX II family documentation also describes 1 Gbps True-LVDS, LVPECL, PCML, and HyperTransport capabilities. Such interfaces permit point-to-point high-speed connections, although implementation requires the configuration, termination, and timing rules in the manufacturer datasheet. The 735 user I/O count gives designers substantial interface capacity, but power integrity and simultaneous-signal performance depend on board-level implementation.

Typical applications include industrial automation, communications equipment, high-speed digital signal processing, protocol bridging, and test or measurement systems. The FPGA can implement parallel datapaths and control functions in one device, while the high pin count accommodates numerous buses, differential links, and memory or peripheral interfaces. The commercial temperature grade is reported as 0 °C to 85 °C, so systems intended for wider ranges require qualification and may need another device.

Designers should first resolve the conflicting frequency and propagation-delay values against the exact APEX II family datasheet and selected speed-grade data. A fine-pitch 1,020-ball package also demands controlled-impedance routing, robust power distribution, correct decoupling, thermal analysis, and manufacturer-recommended BGA assembly. The nominal 1.5 V rail must remain within the stated 1.425 V to 1.575 V range.

This page combines verified device specifications, package and supply constraints, source traceability, and practical replacement guidance. Because the cross-reference search returned no verified pin-compatible alternatives, engineers should use the EP2A40F1020C8N ordering code and APEX II datasheet as the controlling records when evaluating substitutes or planning board redesigns.

Drop-in alternatives for EP2A40F1020C8N — same package, pin-to-pin compatible. Different-package parts requiring PCB rework are excluded.

Variants in this series

Same-series models that are drop-in compatible with EP2A40F1020C8N (same form factor and footprint) — differing in Package, Process Technology, System Gates, Operating Temperature, Logic Elements.

Intel
Package: FBGA-1020
Process Technology: 0.15 µm CMOS
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Altera
Package: FBGA-1020
Process Technology: 0.15 µm
Logic Elements: 40,000
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Altera
Package: 1020-ball FC-FBGA (Fine-pitch Chip-Scale BGA)
Process Technology: 0.15 um CMOS, all-layer copper (up to 8 metal layers)
System Gates: 1.5 M
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Intel
Package: FC-FBGA-1020, 33 × 33 mm, 1.0 mm pitch, fine-line
System Gates: 1,500,000 (1.5 M)
Operating Temperature: 0 °C to +85 °C (commercial, C7 grade)
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Intel
Process Technology: 0.15 µm all-layer copper, up to 8 metal layers
System Gates: 1,500,000
Operating Temperature: 0 C to +85 C (commercial, 'C' suffix)
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Altera
Package: 1020-pin FC-FBGA
Process Technology: 0.15 µm CMOS
System Gates: 1.5 M
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Intel
Package: 1020-ball FC-FBGA, 33 × 33 mm, 1 mm pitch, FineLine
Process Technology: 0.15 µm all-layer copper (up to 8 metal layers)
System Gates: 1.5 M
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Altera
Package: 1020-ball FC-FBGA
Process Technology: 0.15 µm CMOS
System Gates: 1.5M
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Intel
Package: 1020-pin FC-FBGA
Process Technology: 0.15 µm
System Gates: 1,500,000
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Intel
Package: 1020-ball FineLine BGA (FBGA)
Process Technology: 0.18 micron CMOS
System Gates: 655,360
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Intel
Package: 1020-pin FC-FBGA (Flip-Chip Fine-pitch BGA)
Process Technology: 0.15 um CMOS
System Gates: 1.5 M (typical)
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →
Altera
Package: 1020-pin FC-FBGA
Process Technology: 0.15 µm
System Gates: 1.5 M
Compare with EP2A40F1020C8N →

Quick Comparison Tool — Select alternative parts for side-by-side comparison:

EP2A40F1020C8

✅ Drop-In ⚠️ 参数待验证
Intel
📦 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020
APEX II · CMOS · 0.15 µm all-layer copper, up to 8 metal layers · 1,500,000 · 38,400 · 2,560 · 376 MHz

✓ In Stock

$310 / Unit

View Datasheet →

EP2A40F1020C7N

✅ Drop-In ⚠️ 参数待验证
Intel
📦 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020
APEX II · 0.15 µm all-layer copper CMOS, up to 8 metal layers · 1,500,000 (1.5 M) · 38,400 · ESB-based, 504 Kbits total · 562 MHz · 1.55 ns · 735

✓ In Stock

$198 / Unit

View Datasheet →

EP2A40F1020C7

✅ Drop-In ⚠️ 参数待验证
Altera
📦 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020
APEX II · 38,400 · 1.5 M · 2,560 · 735 · 655,360 bits · 1.5 V · 562 MHz

✓ In Stock

$138 / Unit

View Datasheet →

EP2A40F1020C6N

✅ Drop-In ⚠️ 参数待验证
Altera
📦 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020
APEX II · APEX II (EP2A) · 40,000 · 655,360 bits · 735 · FBGA-1020 · 1.5 V (typical)

✓ In Stock

$198 / Unit

View Datasheet →

EP2A40F1020C6

✅ Drop-In ⚠️ 参数待验证
Intel
📦 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020
APEX II · 1,600,000 · 40,000 · 655,360 bits · 4 · 1.8 V

✓ In Stock

$149 / Unit

View Datasheet →

EP2A40F1020C8N Maximum Ratings & Electrical Characteristics

Product Type Field-Programmable Gate Array (FPGA)
Device Family APEX II
Logic Technology CMOS
Logic Gates 1.5 million
Logic Cells 38,400
Nominal Supply Voltage 1.5 V
Supply Voltage Range 1.425 V to 1.575 V
User I/Os 735
Package Terminal Count 1,020 pins
Package Type FC-FBGA, BGA-1020
Package Body Size 33 mm x 33 mm
Ball Pitch 1 mm
Reported Operating Frequency 376 MHz
Alternative Reported Frequency 562 MHz
Reported Propagation Delay 1.78 ns
Alternative Reported Propagation Delay 1.55 ns
Fabrication Process 0.15 µm
Maximum Reported Metal Layers 8 layers
Operating Temperature 0 °C to 85 °C
Mounting Type Surface Mount
Terminal Form Ball
RoHS Status unknown
REACH Status unknown
AEC-Q100 Qualification unknown

EP2A40F1020C8N 33 mm x 33 mm Pin Configuration Guide

Pin configuration for EP2A40F1020C8N (33 mm x 33 mm package). This digital IC includes GPIO, communication interfaces (UART, SPI, I2C), and power pins. Refer to the manufacturer datasheet for alternate pin functions and configuration options. Essential for embedded system design and PCB layout.

33 mm x 33 mm package pinout diagram for EP2A40F1020C8N

No detailed pinout data available for EP2A40F1020C8N.

Refer to the datasheet for full pin configuration.

Typical Applications

EP2A40F1020C8N is suitable for 6 applications: Industrial Automation Control, Communications Protocol Equipment, High-Speed Data Acquisition, Test and Measurement Instrumentation, Digital Signal Processing Back-End, Legacy Embedded System Maintenance.

🏭

Industrial Automation Control

EP2A40F1020C8N fits industrial automation control when a design needs dense programmable logic, 735 user I/Os, and multiple parallel interfaces in one BGA device. Its 1.5 million gates and 38,400 cells can support machine-control state machines, sensor aggregation, actuator sequencing, and communications glue logic. The 1.5 V nominal supply requires a tightly regulated 1.425 V to 1.575 V rail, while the reported 0 °C to 85 °C operating range must be checked against the cabinet environment. Engineers should use the exact APEX II configuration flow, preserve the legacy pin assignments, and validate timing with the selected device documentation.

🌐

Communications Protocol Equipment

EP2A40F1020C8N can implement protocol bridging, packet handling, channel coding, and high-speed interface adaptation in communications equipment. The APEX II family documentation describes 1 Gbps True-LVDS, LVPECL, PCML, and HyperTransport capabilities, making differential I/O a relevant system consideration. Its 735 user I/Os allow several narrow or wide interfaces to be consolidated, while 38,400 cells provide capacity for parallel datapath processing. Because the supplied sources report both 376 MHz and 562 MHz figures, frequency planning must rely on the exact family datasheet and the interface-specific timing conditions rather than an unverified headline number.

📊

High-Speed Data Acquisition

EP2A40F1020C8N is suitable for data-acquisition systems that need many interface signals, parallel processing, and configurable timing. The device’s 735 user I/Os can connect to ADC or DAC controls, data buses, clocks, status signals, and downstream processing blocks, while 38,400 cells support buffering, formatting, and trigger logic. The 1.5 V rail and reported 1.55 ns or 1.78 ns propagation-delay values make power-integrity and timing closure important. Confirm the actual source of the timing figures, observe the 1.425 V to 1.575 V supply range, and model the complete acquisition path before committing the device to a new design.

🔬

Test and Measurement Instrumentation

EP2A40F1020C8N can serve in test and measurement equipment where programmable sequencing, multiple instrument interfaces, and deterministic parallel logic are required. The FPGA’s 1.5 million gates and 38,400 cells allow control, capture, formatting, and communication functions to be integrated around an acquisition subsystem. The 1,020-ball BGA provides 735 user I/Os for instrument buses, clock distribution, and service interfaces, but signal integrity depends on controlled impedance and correct decoupling. Since the component is marked obsolete, existing instrumentation should be supported through controlled inventory and verified configuration files while new platforms evaluate a currently supported FPGA family.

🖥️

Digital Signal Processing Back-End

EP2A40F1020C8N fits a digital signal-processing back-end that needs parallel arithmetic, buffering, and interface adaptation. Its 38,400 cells and 1.5 million gates provide a broad programmable fabric for filters, framing, control, and data movement, while the APEX II family’s high-speed differential interface descriptions support suitable external links when the selected I/O mode is supported. The design must distinguish the conflicting 376 MHz, 562 MHz, 1.55 ns, and 1.78 ns source figures. Confirm resource utilization, clock domains, I/O-bank restrictions, and configuration support in the manufacturer documentation; the supplied web data does not provide a power, thermal, or DSP-performance limit.

🔧

Legacy Embedded System Maintenance

EP2A40F1020C8N is most valuable in legacy embedded-system maintenance where the original APEX II architecture, package, and board footprint must remain stable. The 1,020-ball BGA, 735 user I/Os, 1.5 V nominal supply, and 33 mm by 33 mm package description provide a useful identity set for inventory and replacement investigations. A maintenance team can use the family documentation to preserve configuration flow, differential I/O choices, and board timing assumptions. Because no verified cross-brand drop-in alternative is available, replacement planning should include date-code review, counterfeit-risk controls, formal equivalence testing, and a possible PCB redesign if an obsolete-source component cannot be secured.

What is EP2A40F1020C8N?
EP2A40F1020C8N is an Intel APEX II field-programmable gate array with 1.5 million gates and 38,400 logic cells. According to the APEX II Programmable Logic Device Family data sheet identified as DS-APEXII-3.0, it is fabricated using a 0.15 µm all-layer copper process with up to eight metal layers. The device provides 735 user I/Os in a 1,020-ball BGA package.
What are the key specifications of EP2A40F1020C8N that engineers should know?
The key specifications are a nominal 1.5 V supply, 1.425 V to 1.575 V supply range, 1.5 million gates, 38,400 cells, and 735 user I/Os. The package is a 1,020-terminal fine-pitch BGA with a 33 mm by 33 mm body and 1 mm pitch. Reported timing figures differ by source, so 1.55 ns and 1.78 ns must be resolved against the exact device documentation.
What is the operating voltage of EP2A40F1020C8N?
EP2A40F1020C8N operates from a nominal 1.5 V supply, with a reported allowable range of 1.425 V to 1.575 V. According to the verified distributor data, this range applies to the CMOS APEX II device. Power-system design must use transient analysis, local decoupling, and the manufacturer datasheet limits rather than assuming tolerance beyond the stated 75 mV total span.
Where can I download the EP2A40F1020C8N datasheet PDF?
The manufacturer-family documentation is available through the verified APEX II data-sheet result identified as DS-APEXII-3.0. Use the linked HTML datasheet record and follow its PDF-download or source-document link: https://pdf.datasheet.live/da7c4e1a/altera.com/EP2A40F1020C8N.html. Always compare the complete MPN and package code before using timing, electrical, or ordering information.
Where can I find the EP2A40F1020C8N pinout?
The pinout is documented through the APEX II family documentation and package-ball information for the 1,020-terminal device, not by a verified component-level pin table in the supplied data. The package is reported as 33 mm by 33 mm with 1 mm pitch. Engineers should obtain the package drawing and ball-map record before schematic capture, PCB escape routing, or footprint generation.
What is the difference between the 376 MHz and 562 MHz figures for EP2A40F1020C8N?
The supplied sources report both 376 MHz and 562 MHz for the EP2A40 family, so the values are not interchangeable. The APEX II family data sheet should be treated as the authority, but the exact condition behind each number is not present in the provided snippets. Confirm whether the intended figure is a device maximum, benchmark, logic-resource result, or a source-specific shorthand before using it in a specification or design target.
What is the difference between 1.55 ns and 1.78 ns propagation delay for EP2A40F1020C8N?
EP2A40F1020C8N is associated with both 1.55 ns and 1.78 ns propagation-delay values in the verified search results. These values differ by 0.23 ns, or approximately 12.9% relative to 1.78 ns. Because the supplied data does not define identical test conditions for both figures, treat them as conflicting source values and verify the exact speed-grade and datasheet table before timing sign-off.
Is EP2A40F1020C8N suitable for industrial automation?
EP2A40F1020C8N is commonly identified with industrial automation applications, but its reported operating-temperature range is 0 °C to 85 °C. That range can suit controlled industrial equipment, not every extended-temperature or outdoor installation. Its 735 user I/Os, 1.5 million gates, and 38,400 cells support parallel control and interface integration when the 1.5 V supply and commercial temperature grade satisfy system requirements.
When should I choose EP2A40F1020C8N over another FPGA?
Choose EP2A40F1020C8N when an existing board requires an APEX II device with a 1,020-ball BGA footprint, 1.5 V supply, and 735 user I/Os. Its 1.5 million gates and 38,400 cells can support established legacy designs without FPGA architecture migration. Choose a newer FPGA instead when improved tool support, availability, power efficiency, or a wider temperature range is more important than preserving the legacy footprint.
What is the best drop-in replacement for EP2A40F1020C8N?
No verified drop-in replacement is established by the supplied cross-reference search. EP2A40F1020C8N combines a 1,020-terminal fine-pitch BGA, 735 user I/Os, APEX II architecture, and a 0.15 µm process, so an apparently similar FPGA cannot be assumed pin-compatible. A true replacement requires matching ordering code, package drawing, ball map, electrical limits, configuration interface, and timing behavior; otherwise it is a redesign rather than a drop-in substitution.
Can EP2A40F1020C8N be replaced by another manufacturer’s FPGA?
A cross-brand FPGA may replace the functional application, but the supplied web data does not verify a same-footprint, pin-to-pin equivalent. Intel/Altera, CMOS, APEX II, and 1,020-ball BGA are not sufficient evidence of cross-brand compatibility. Configuration, I/O standards, voltage, timing, memory blocks, and ball assignments must be checked in both manufacturers’ datasheets, and a footprint change may be unavoidable.
Where to buy EP2A40F1020C8N online?
EP2A40F1020C8N can be sought through the distributor and reseller pages listed in the verified search results, including Octopart and the supplied component distributors. The device is classified as obsolete, so availability may depend on authorized stock, broker inventory, or quote-based supply. Confirm the full ordering code, package marking, provenance, and inspection requirements with the seller before purchase.
What is the price of EP2A40F1020C8N as of 2026-09-08?
No defensible unit price was included in the verified data, so the current price of EP2A40F1020C8N is unknown as of 2026-09-08. The zero-valued quantity tiers in this record are placeholders and must not be interpreted as market pricing. Obtain a current authorized-distributor or qualified-sourcing quote, including required inspection and minimum-order terms, before comparing acquisition cost.
What is the lead time for EP2A40F1020C8N?
The lead time for EP2A40F1020C8N is not stated in the verified data as of 2026-09-08. Because the part is classified as obsolete and the search results do not provide a current inventory commitment, buyers should request written stock and lead-time confirmation from each supplier. Treat any distributor listing without a stated lead time as unavailable or quote-dependent rather than assuming immediate fulfillment.
Is EP2A40F1020C8N in stock?
EP2A40F1020C8N stock status is not explicitly confirmed by the supplied results, so in-stock availability cannot be asserted as of 2026-09-08. Octopart and reseller pages may provide current availability, but a listing alone does not establish stock. Contact the seller for a live allocation, date code, lot traceability, and the number of parts available before scheduling production.
What design constraints are most important for the EP2A40F1020C8N 1,020-ball BGA?
The 1,020-ball fine-pitch BGA requires exact ball-map verification, controlled fan-out, appropriate via geometry, impedance control, and manufacturer-recommended solder-mask and pad dimensions. The package is reported as 33 mm by 33 mm with 1 mm pitch, and the device has 735 user I/Os. Confirm land pattern and assembly tolerances with the package drawing rather than scaling a generic BGA footprint.
What power and thermal considerations apply to EP2A40F1020C8N?
EP2A40F1020C8N uses a nominal 1.5 V rail with a reported 1.425 V to 1.575 V range, so rail accuracy and decoupling are critical. A large, configurable 38,400-cell FPGA can produce logic-dependent power dissipation, but the supplied data does not provide a maximum power or thermal-resistance value. Estimate board and junction temperature only after obtaining the manufacturer’s power-consumption model, package thermal data, airflow assumptions, and workload conditions.
Does EP2A40F1020C8N support high-speed differential I/O?
EP2A40F1020C8N is part of the APEX II family documentation that describes 1 Gbps True-LVDS, LVPECL, PCML, and HyperTransport capabilities. These are family-level interface claims, not a guarantee that every I/O bank or configuration supports every mode. Verify differential-pair placement, I/O-bank supply, termination, voltage swing, and timing limits in the complete APEX II data sheet before assigning pins.
What is the lifecycle status of EP2A40F1020C8N?
EP2A40F1020C8N is classified as obsolete in the supplied product data, as of the 2026-09-08 verification. Obsolete status means the part should not be treated as a normal new-design component with stable long-term production. Existing programs should qualify an alternate architecture or secure controlled inventory, while new designs should confirm lifecycle, tool support, and manufacturing availability before schematic freeze.
Is EP2A40F1020C8N RoHS and REACH compliant?
RoHS and REACH compliance for EP2A40F1020C8N are unknown because the supplied verified data does not state either status. The same limitation applies to lead-free, halogen-free, conflict-minerals, and AEC-Q100 qualification. Do not infer environmental or automotive compliance from the package, manufacturer, or legacy product status; request a current manufacturer declaration or certificate for the exact ordering code.
What is the best cross-brand equivalent for EP2A40F1020C8N?
No best cross-brand equivalent can be verified from the supplied cross-reference search. A credible equivalent would need the same 1,020-terminal package, pin-to-pin ball assignment, 735 available user I/Os, 1.5 V-class supply, compatible configuration, sufficient logic capacity, and matching I/O standards. Without verified cross-reference evidence, any proposed part should be labeled a potential functional alternative requiring redesign and full timing, signal-integrity, power, and footprint validation.
What is the difference between EP2A40F1020C8N and a CPLD?
EP2A40F1020C8N is an FPGA with 1.5 million gates and 38,400 cells, while a CPLD is a different programmable-logic architecture typically used for lower-density, fast, predictable control functions. The APEX II device provides substantially more logic and 735 user I/Os, but its configuration and power design are more complex. Choose the FPGA for broad datapath, interface, and parallel-processing requirements, not merely because both devices are programmable.
Which tools and configuration flow should be used with EP2A40F1020C8N?
EP2A40F1020C8N belongs to the legacy APEX II family, so the exact supported design-software version and configuration flow must be confirmed from the manufacturer documentation and installed toolchain. The supplied results do not identify a current tool version, device file, or programmer. Preserve the original project archives and verify device recognition, pin assignments, I/O standards, and configuration file compatibility before any engineering change.
How many I/O pins are available on EP2A40F1020C8N?
EP2A40F1020C8N provides 735 user I/Os according to the verified device data. The package has 1,020 terminals, but not all terminals are user I/Os; the remaining balls support power, configuration, dedicated functions, and other device needs. Reserve power and configuration balls in the floorplan and verify the complete ball map before assigning the 735 user signals.
What is the package size of EP2A40F1020C8N?
EP2A40F1020C8N is reported in a 33 mm by 33 mm fine-pitch BGA package with 1,020 pins or balls and 1 mm pitch. The package is also described as FC-FBGA. Because the exact package drawing and exposed-pad information are not included in the supplied data, use the manufacturer package specification for the final land pattern, keep-out dimensions, and assembly-process controls.

Engineering reference data for EP2A40F1020C8N — comparison, design guidance, and compliance information.

Selection Guide

Choose EP2A40F1020C8N when maintaining an existing APEX II design, preserving a 1,020-ball BGA footprint, or retaining the reported 1.5 million gates, 38,400 cells, and 735 user I/Os. It is particularly appropriate for legacy industrial automation, communications, data-acquisition, and test systems whose firmware and timing model depend on the APEX II architecture. Select EP2A40F1020C8, EP2A40F1020C7N, or another same-family candidate only after confirming the ordering suffix, speed grade, package ball map, electrical limits, and configuration compatibility. Do not select a modern FPGA solely because it is newer; migration may require a new footprint, power design, pin assignment, I/O standard review, and toolchain. If extended temperature operation, current availability, or long-term support is required, plan a redesign to a currently supported programmable-logic family.

Comparison with Alternatives

Parameter This Product EP2A40F1020C8 EP2A40F1020C7N EP2A40F1020C7 EP2A40F1020C6N EP2A40F1020C6
Brand Intel Intel Intel Intel Intel Intel
Package FC-FBGA, BGA-1020 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020 FC-FBGA, BGA-1020
Product Type FPGA FPGA FPGA FPGA FPGA FPGA
Logic Gates 1.5 million 1.5 million 1.5 million 1.5 million 1.5 million 1.5 million
Logic Cells 38,400 38,400 38,400 38,400 38,400 38,400
Nominal Supply Voltage 1.5 V 1.5 V 1.5 V 1.5 V 1.5 V 1.5 V
User I/Os 735 735 735 735 735 735
Reported Frequency 376 MHz; alternative source reports 562 MHz 376 MHz; alternative source reports 562 MHz 376 MHz; alternative source reports 562 MHz 376 MHz; alternative source reports 562 MHz 376 MHz; alternative source reports 562 MHz 376 MHz; alternative source reports 562 MHz
Reported Propagation Delay 1.78 ns; alternative source reports 1.55 ns 1.78 ns; alternative source reports 1.55 ns 1.78 ns; alternative source reports 1.55 ns 1.78 ns; alternative source reports 1.55 ns 1.78 ns; alternative source reports 1.55 ns 1.78 ns; alternative source reports 1.55 ns

Key Differentiators

  • High user-I/O density in a legacy 1,020-ball BGA (vs EP2A40F1020C7N)
  • Established APEX II logic capacity (vs EP2A40F1020C6N)
  • Nominal 1.5 V APEX II supply context (vs EP2A40F1020C7)

Design Notes

Design the 1.5 V core rail to stay within the reported 1.425 V to 1.575 V range under load, temperature, line variation, and load-step transients. Use the APEX II family power-connection and decoupling guidance, place local capacitors at the correct power balls, and provide a low-impedance return path. The supplied data does not provide maximum current or a power-dissipation value, so do not calculate a final thermal margin from an assumed current. Confirm regulator rating, capacitor derating, and FPGA power model before release.

Use the manufacturer’s 1,020-ball package drawing and ball map to generate the footprint, not a generic BGA library. The package is described as 33 mm by 33 mm with 1 mm pitch; verify land diameter, solder-mask opening, via-in-pad or dog-bone escape, and layer stack-up with the assembly house. Since 735 balls are available as user I/Os, reserve power, ground, clock, and configuration balls before assigning high-speed signals, and review simultaneous-switching and return-current paths.

For high-speed differential interfaces, start with the APEX II family documentation describing 1 Gbps True-LVDS, LVPECL, PCML, and HyperTransport capabilities, but treat those as family-level claims. Verify the selected I/O mode, bank voltage, differential-pair geometry, termination scheme, receiver requirements, and timing budget from the exact device documentation. The source data provides conflicting frequency and delay values, so do not use 376 MHz, 562 MHz, 1.55 ns, or 1.78 ns without resolving the intended condition and configuration.

The supplied data does not state thermal resistance, maximum junction temperature, or a maximum power figure for EP2A40F1020C8N. Therefore, a junction-temperature estimate would be fabricated unless the missing package and power data are obtained. After obtaining those values, estimate heat rise from power dissipation, ambient temperature, airflow, and the package thermal model; label the result as an estimate. The reported 0 °C to 85 °C operating range also requires system-level temperature verification, especially in enclosed industrial or communications equipment.

Do not treat the obsolete classification, conflicting timing numbers, or an alternative suffix as proof of interchangeability. EP2A40F1020C8N, EP2A40F1020C8, EP2A40F1020C7N, EP2A40F1020C7, EP2A40F1020C6N, and EP2A40F1020C6 are shown as same-family package candidates, but the provided data does not prove full electrical or functional equivalence. Before substitution, compare the complete ordering code, package drawing, ball map, supply limits, I/O modes, configuration interface, speed grade, and timing table. If those records do not match, treat the part as a redesign-level alternative.

Compliance Information

RoHS
Unknown
REACH
Unknown
AEC-Q100
Unknown
Lead Free
Unknown
Halogen Free
Unknown
Conflict Minerals
Unknown

The supplied verified data does not state RoHS, REACH, AEC-Q100, lead-free, halogen-free, or conflict-minerals status for EP2A40F1020C8N. Obtain the manufacturer declaration for the exact ordering code before relying on any compliance claim.

Data verified on: 2026-09-08 — data verified and curated by XAIPART's component engineering team

Related Searches

EP2A40F1020C8N datasheet EP2A40F1020C8N APEX II FPGA EP2A40F1020C8N 1.5 million gates EP2A40F1020C8N 38,400 cells EP2A40F1020C8N 1,020-ball BGA EP2A40F1020C8N 735 user I/O EP2A40F1020C8N industrial automation FPGA EP2A40F1020C8N high-speed differential I/O EP2A40F1020C8N vs EP2A40F1020C7N EP2A40F1020C8N drop-in replacement EP2A40F1020C8N price and availability where to buy EP2A40F1020C8N what is the pinout of EP2A40F1020C8N EP2A40F1020C8N 1.5 V supply range EP2A40F1020C8N legacy FPGA replacement

Related Components & Terms

Intel Altera EP2A40F1020C8N EP2A40F1020C8 EP2A40F1020C7N EP2A40F1020C7 EP2A40F1020C6N EP2A40F1020C6 FPGA field-programmable gate array programmable logic device PLD CMOS APEX II logic cell user I/O FC-FBGA BGA-1020 fine-pitch BGA surface-mount technology True-LVDS LVPECL PCML HyperTransport industrial automation
Quick Quote RFQ
Fill in complete details — our sales team will respond within 24 hours
Part Number Manufacturer Package QTY Target Price Extended
Total: $0.00 USD
Quote submitted!

We will respond to your email within 24 hours

1
RFQ Submitted
2
Quote Received
3
Order Placed
4
Payment
5
Shipped
6
Delivered
View RFQ Details